A morning in Edinburgh | Feeling Creative Again

Today, I returned from a lovely few days in Edinburgh with my favourite boy, filled with lots of walking, hiking up hills, seeing some friends and exploring the city, which I will hopefully write about soon, but right now, I wanted to share some pictures from our first morning in the city.

I had been having a bit of a creative block in recent weeks, partly due to being busy working in my old department in Plymouth, travelling back and forth to London for freelance shoots and cat sitting and also due to not really being inspired to pick up my camera and take pictures. I take videos and pictures of most things all the time, so it was weird to not really want to, or feel inspired to, this is quite a rarity for me usually. But on this one morning in Edinburgh, a combination of the gorgeous interiors of our lovely airbnb, the gorgeous morning light, my favourite person and our steaming cups of chai tea had me inspired and I’m so pleased with these photographs, they just document a simple morning, before we headed for a day of exploring but they inspired me to get making again and I love how they turned out!

We stayed in this lovely apartment in Leith, the hosts also lived there which was cool, as we chatted with them and they gave us some tips on good places to go but were at work during the day, so it was like we had the whole place to ourselves, it was decorated beautifully and I wanted to move in right away.

We sipped our chai tea in the morning, and cooked eggs and planned our day’s adventures, grateful to have my best friend as my adventure partner, we had such a lovely time wandering the streets of the city in search of beautiful views and little places to explore. That golden morning light had me so inspired, and of course, I can’t wait to return to Edinburgh again sometime soon.

Photos taken on Canon 600D with a 24mm f/2.8 lens

3 thoughts on “A morning in Edinburgh | Feeling Creative Again

  1. Edinburgh is somewhere I’ve only visited for a couple of days, but I’d like to go and spend more time there at some point. That’s a mighty fine looking breakfast! Love all your photos but the steamy teacups are my favourite 🙂

    Like

  2. I love love the photo of the steam rising from the mugs. And I can’t wait to read more about your time in Edinburgh – I went three years ago and I’m itching to get back to that city. Also I was definitely in a little creative funk too – I think traveling is such a good cure for that, though! A change of scenery always helps 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

