Bits & Pieces | July & August

Summer is weird for me. I’m not a fan of the heat, dislike the lack of structure and never feel my best at this time of year. This year, I was adamant that I didn’t want to be sat at home as a new graduate, waiting for the right job to come up, sending off countless applications and not making the most of the weather and freedom. So, I planned lots of stuff and July was really busy and full of adventures which was good. The post-graduation worry still reared its head, but I had lots of fun memories to look back on too!

apartment_intsa_6

IMG_2220

Sneaking back into June for these first few pictures but on my birthday, we drive out to Rame Head for an afternoon of cliff wandering and picnicking! It was such a lovely way to spend the day and nice to be among friends in one of my favourite places!

IMG_2155

Lici, me and Laura at Rame.

IMG_2169

A rest during the nice long walk!

IMG_2180

Road trip to Rame!

IMG_2189

My birthday baguette! Sean and Lici kindly baked me a brownie cake but it was too warm to put candles in, so Sean came up with the idea of putting them in bread instead. Definitely a surprise and very funny to be greeted with!

IMG_2205

Came home from somewhere and S had put up the birthday bunting that Lu sent! A lovely surprise 🙂 I love bunting!

IMG_2254 IMG_2259

Evening sunset walks down to the harbour, so lovely and peaceful to watch the boats bobbing about.

IMG_2275

Some aesthetically pleasing water in Boston tea party when mum was visiting!

IMG_2279

The beautiful windows in our room with the evening light.

IMG_2289

Wandering up to the park by our house for sea views and reading.   IMG_2314

Spending many happy evenings at the climbing wall! So much fun!

IMG_2319

Taking an evening trip up to Exeter with G for climbing! It was nice to go to a new wall and try different routes!

IMG_2349

So grateful for this boy. Had a bit of a brain freeze and left my debit card and passport in Plymouth the day before I went to France. He took the train up to London with my things and stayed a night. Overwhelmed by his patience and kindness daily but this was on another level. He’s a good egg indeed. We had a lovely day in London and I was so grateful to have him there.

IMG_2345

A classic foot shot, from our day in London!

IMG_2367

My aunt’s beautiful house in France.

IMG_2373

While in France, my mum, aunt and I embarked on a 70 mile cycle trip around the Bassin d’arcachon – a beautiful area beside the coast near to where my aunt and her family live! We carried everything we needed for the two days on our bikes, stayed in a b n b in between and cycled and cycled! It was a fun time but hard work! We ended up at the lighthouse in Cape Ferrat before heading home for a japanese feast cooked by my cousin!

IMG_2386

Sunset after the first day of riding! We were all delirious with tiredness!

IMG_2391

‘The puffin made me do it’ – funny icelandic mugs that my cousin brought back from his trip there!

 

IMG_2410

Sorting through old photos with lulu and finding this gem!

IMG_2428

Catching up with Dari – one of my dearest friends from school! So grateful for this friendship!

IMG_2452

A weekend in bournemouth with friends – lots of beach time, chocolate and late night giggles!

IMG_2516

Sunset on our last evening there, I took the opportunity to have a sunset dip in the sea which felt amazing and I was so glad I did!

IMG_2523

Such cute beach huts! Loved the colours!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

More beach huts in Bournemouth!

IMG_2548

A phase of hummus and avocado on toast – it’s yummy I promise! Dad was not impressed and left the room cause he was so grossed out!

IMG_2556

Our family all in one place for one night! It was glorious!

IMG_2558

In the ongoing theme of putting birthday candles in things other than cake, on mama’s birthday, the restaurant gave her a birthday meringue and we all sang to her!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

My grandparents and I. So lucky to have them in my life and we had a lovely time at the theatre for their wedding anniversary (60 years!) and Mum’s birthday!

IMG_2604

Making my favourite breakfast often. Eggs, avocado, tomatoes and sweetcorn fritters – it’s more of a lunch but I don’t care!

IMG_2625

Baking cookies with friends.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Edited the majority of my iceland photos this month and shared them on instagram! This was one of my favourites! so grateful to know these people, even if they all live so far away! Take me back!

IMG_2679

Leftover curry and amazing naan bread! Delicious! Spent almost a week in Edinburgh in July with Ash and Lulu! We have all decided we want to move there!

IMG_2680

The view of Carlton Hill from our air b n b in Edinburgh! SO gorgeous!

apartment_tumblr_1

Our beautiful air b n b that we all wanted to move into!

IMG_2698

So much art time with AG – during our trip, we pushed each other to try new creative things, and had so much fun wandering around taking photos and videos! Love this gal like a sister! 😀

IMG_2710

Views over to arthurs seat from carlton hill!

IMG_2713 A highland cow on our day in the highlands!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

One of the many gorgeous views on our highlands day! This was somewhere near Glencoe I think!

IMG_2717

Ash’s amazing braiding talent!

IMG_2720

Braiding selfie!

IMG_2727

From our botanic gardens trip!

IMG_2729

Lulu and I exploring Scotland.

IMG_2739

More apartment views and Ash!

IMG_2769

Climbing with Dani in London! IMG_2806

A walk near to Royal William Yard while looking at flats for S.

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

Views out to the ocean in Plymouth, soaking up the last few months of living there full time – I know I’ll be back quite often but it won’t stop me missing having the sea within walking distance of my front door. I love it! Also, at this time of year, the lido (pool) is at its prettiest!

Processed with VSCO with g3 preset

A very pretty street down by Royal William Yard – I’d quite like to live here one day!

IMG_2826

Hanging out on the hoe.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Watching the olympics! Particularly on the big screen in Plymouth! Pretty much summed up most of the summer for me! I loooove the Olympics!

IMG_2830

A yellow door that I passed every morning when going into uni this year, and had always wanted to take a picture of! I finally did on my last morning when heading up the hill to hand in my keys!

IMG_2771

S and I on an evening down by the water.

IMG_2842

A long exposure of the ferry heading out to sea one evening when S & I drove out to Jennycliff!

IMG_2847

S with his collection of cardboard boxes – bit of a hoarder?

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

A quick trip up to Somerset on moving weekend to drop some stuff at S’s parents, a happy escape from the moving chaos and a peaceful drive early on Sunday morning!

IMG_2850

Hydrangeas on my street in Plymouth – We could see them from our window and they really brightened up the view!

IMG_2864

Wearing sandals at every opportunity! It’s one of my favourite parts of summer!

13935054_10155121448004447_2954593165808103023_n

Our last night in our Hamilton shared house! Sad that its the end of an era and my student days! Will miss all of this lot though!

IMG_2869

Our beautiful room filled with light, on the morning we left! Very sad to leave it!

IMG_2885

Walks through neighbourhoods we hardly go to, with streets filled with lavender and pastel houses in the sunshine.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The library on the hill near my Aunt’s house! It’s so stunning! Imagine going here to study?

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

Wandering around a local park one afternoon!

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Pretty summer flowers.

Lots of lovely things to look back on! Feel so lucky to live this life. More stories from August to come but they are for a separate post! (#garrelsroamfree)

 

“Be grateful for what you have and you will always have enough.”

 

One thought on “Bits & Pieces | July & August

Leave a Reply

