bits and pieces | May & June

this month has been about savouring all the little things that make up the everyday and taking time to notice them. Especially, since the referendum result of last week, since nothing has felt safe or certain or like anyone has a plan for the future of the country… The future for me personally is currently a bit uncertain too with no job yet (though I only finished uni a couple of weeks ago!) and no real plans as to where I’ll be living (its potentially Plymouth, potentially London…) or maybe I’ll just move abroad to escape the chaos that is currently England….

Anyway, I wanted to document a few things that have happened over the last few months, through the medium of iPhone photos.

IMG_1165

My first outdoor climb in a long time! A group of us headed out to Mount Batten on Bank Holiday Monday at 8am no less to give the crag a go. It was so fun, we started out bouldering and then progressed onto top roping and it was beautiful. It was also the day that the Transat (a sailing race between Plymouth & New York) started so as we climbed you could see all the boats heading out of the harbour which was pretty special! Me and G (my climbing partner) spent the next few weeks checking where in the ocean the boats were and giving each other updates! But, it made me want to learn to lead climb so I can go outdoors whenever. Climbing is the best. Seriously!

IMG_1190

One of my best friends needed a little inspiration, so one morning, a crafted together this little poster of a quote we both like and try to live by. It’s an important one to remember.

Processed with VSCO with c1 preset

The prettiest blossoms in Central Park (Plymouth not NYC!) all in a line. I headed up there early one sunday morning and wandered beneath them in awe for a while.

Processed with VSCO with f2 preset

Making big batches of our favourite comfort food: Butternut Squash Mac N Cheese with broccoli and so much cheese. I recently got the prettiest dish (from TK Maxx!!) and I just love making stuff to go in it! Perfect for the chilly nights of spring (when this was taken!)

IMG_1255 IMG_1256

Golden hour in S & I’s room. It’s magic on sunny evenings lighting up our whole room with gorgeous golden light.

Processed with VSCO with b1 preset

the one year anniversary of Middie passing away. Miss her.

IMG_1279

The grand houses in the city on sunny days.

Fresh flowers in the jug handmade by my friend who is a potter! And new reads and a post delivery in the form of the simple things!

IMG_1287

Sitting beneath the blossom trees.

IMG_1312

IMG_1339

Day trips with visiting friends to Cremyll. The passenger ferry is fun and the ruined castle is always a stopping point for climbing up and city views back towards Plymouth.

IMG_1370

Filming in the chalet of a famous painter and falling in love with the views. Who wouldn’t be inspired?

IMG_1418

All the cameras at lunch with my friend Tara and I!

IMG_1400

Visiting Tara in Exeter before she went home to the states, we climbed random city walls, walked around, ate one last boston tea party lunch (for her for now!) and she gave me various clothes that she was having to get rid of. It was a beautifully sunny day and I felt like I saw a few different sides of exeter too!

IMG_1500

Flying to Iceland (on a purple plane no less!) – there will be more on this in other posts but it was incredible. And if you get the chance, just go!

IMG_1703

Finding this window in central London. Loved it. and loved the typography too!

IMG_1697

a stop-off in London en route back from Iceland meant a dishoom brunch – it was so good and a great place to catch up with a friend from Montana who was visiting!

IMG_1793

Seeing Mikey (the friend mentioned above!) – He was visiting from Montana (which is where we met and became friends!) and we had a great day exploring London and making fun of each other’s accents! I love being able to pick up right where we left off! Lots of catching up and laughs!

IMG_1712

The flags up on the mall for the Queen’s 90th birthday!

IMG_1726

Getting my first press writsband while filming something with BBC radio devon at Lemonfest in Newton Abbott! Exciting day!

IMG_1766

Sean painting his exhibition piece! Was so proud of him when he showed his film in front of everyone and had the painted background to go with it. He worked really hard on our final year exhibition and it really paid off! 🙂

IMG_1883

IMG_1886

Views from the top floor of one of the arts buildings at uni from while we wandered around the HOT’16 Degree show that my work was part of.

IMG_1894

Some really cool installations in the fine art section. Here is Emily with some lights!  IMG_1915

Finding lovely new cafes to while away an afternoon in, this one was at the Royal William Yard and had the biggest crossiants I had ever seen as well as yummy brownies and tea.     IMG_1971 IMG_1990

A visit to London to show an aussie friend and a US friend around. Lots of walking, sightseeing and a few ice cream stops.

IMG_1999 IMG_2128 IMG_2126

A day trip to Brighton. To see all the familiar sites and show the visitors around, it was sunny and lovely and many games of cards were played in the moments in between.

IMG_2042

Discovering the roof of One New Change near St Pauls. Beautiful views over London and completely free. We stood in awe for quite a while.

IMG_2069

Seeing tower Bridge open! Being a Londoner, you’d have thought I’d have seen this so many times, but instead this is the first time I remember seeing it!

IMG_2095

Floods in my hometown. It was crazy!

IMG_2103

Taking Jesse to the airport – he’s back in America now after a study abroad year in Plymouth. His last morning was spent watching EU referendum coverage that S & I were glued to and despairing at our despair…

IMG_2110  IMG_2120

Beautiful summer evenings in Plymouth down by the water.

IMG_2222 IMG_2143

And finally climbing! Climbing has been something I have been interested in for quite a while but I only started doing it regularly (with a partner) last year! It has swiftly become my favourite thing and is like a form of meditation for me. I love reaching the top of new routes and building up my strength with bouldering. it’s also been great to feel myself progress so much with it and feel like I’m growing. It’s so much fun!

Anyway, that was long but a little summary of all the things that have made me happy recently. The future feels a bit uncertain at the moment, so creating moments like this has been what’s been getting me through…that and climbing as much as possible (3 sessions this week and 3 more planned for the next few days!)

 

 

It is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all. – Laura Ingalls Wilder

 

One thought on “bits and pieces | May & June

Leave a Reply

